Use Case Tip - Sharing with Guests - Full Control

Giving a Guest User Edit Control of Your File(s)

When you need an outside user (guest) to edit a file for you, it's easy to provide access to that file. However, sharing a file by itself does not give you the expected result.

Share Options - Edit/Full-Control Access

When you share a file, the guest user can view the file, and depending on your share settings, they can download for editing as well.

Don't Do This - Share a Folder Instead

But when they attempt to drag-and-drop the file back into the tenant "File Browser", they won't have access. In order for them to have the ability to update a file and automatically update it when they close the editor, the file must be contained within a folder that you have shared. This gives them the appropriate level of access necessary to make updates.

Follow these steps to share a file for editing with a guest user:
  1. Create a folder
  2. Put the file(s) you want to share into that folder
  3. Share the folder with your guest
Steps For Sharing a Folder

There are several ways for a guest user to download the file for editing. If you want them to create a new version of the same file, maintaining a revision history, then follow these steps.

The guest user can maintain a revision history of your shared file using this method: 

Right-click the file (1) and choose "Open With" (2) from the context menu. A sub menu will expand. Click the "Local Application" option and an Executable (.exe) file will download. Run that file and your local application will open with the file ready to edit. The executable provides a connection to the tenant that allows synchronization to occur from the guest user's desktop. 

Steps for Using Local Application

When you're finished editing the file, close the local application. In about a minute that new version will be synchronized with the original file and a version number (V#) will appear in list view. You may need to refresh the list to see this update.  

Version Number

The managers (administrators) can click the version number (V#) to review the revision history. Managers have more control than guest users. They can download, delete or revert the file (1). Whereas, guest users can only download the various versions (2).

Guest and Manager Revision Access

This very useful feature allows you to share your files and folders with guest users without licensing an additional user. For every licensed user, three guest users are assigned. These guest users are based solely on the number of licenses, so if you have three licenses, then you are allowed up to nine guest users at a time. If you add an additional guest, then another license will be added to your account.

If you found this article useful, please like share it. Thanks!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Outlook Add-In for CentreStack

Migrating Shares to the Cloud with CentreStack

Build 9.2.5103 (Feb 12, 2018)